My Meetup Experiences

My Meetup Experiences

ยท

6 min read

Hey everyone today I am going to talk about my meetup experiences and believe me you are going to love this, being distanced from everyone for more than a year to attending the meetups and learning, and interacting with new people, my blog is all about this.

BUT WAIT! You might say, hey dude, what are meetups and why are they organized? And you might also have heard that meetups are not good, so what's the truth?

So I am going to explain what a meetup is and why they are organized in very short as this blog is about my experiences.

Screenshot from 2022-09-19 09-18-33.png

You got your answer

Now, is it worth it to go to meetups?- Let's find out ๐Ÿ˜‰ But before diving into my experience, I want to tell you about myself so that you can understand how it worked and helped me.

ABOUT ME

You know my name, but let me do some formalities So my name is NISHANT ATTREY. I am in my first year, talking about my past I want to tell you that I was not a guy who interacted with others and had zero contact with friends and all but later on I joined Twitter and started coding and made some cool and nice friends on Twitter and then I got to know about meetups and I took a decision to go and have a new experience.

My Experience - The Story Begins

So it starts on 10 August 2022, 11:29 PM, KUNAL Tweets about his Delhi meetup that he is going to organize and later on 14 August 2022, 08:00 PM forms were out for the registration to Delhi meetup, filled the form and waited for the acceptance of the mail, I was not lucky enough to get the chance.

CIVO Meetup- My First Real Life Meetup

I was sad that I could not join Kunal's meetup, but later SAIYAM announced about Civo meetup

Screenshot from 2022-09-23 19-47-08.png

Now it was my chance to grab this opportunity and guess what I did, went straight to the meetup and met new people talked to speakers asked my questions also interacted with my Twitter friends Rishabh and Kartikeya, It was my first meetup, I could not do much networking but still managed to talk to some of the new people. civomeetup.jpeg Now, What I achieved from going to this event?

  • Saiyam talked about Kubernetes and automation and how they are working on it, to be honest, I saw many videos about Kubernetes but the way Saiyam spoke about Kubernetes was the best. And I am in Love with AUTOMATION for real
  • The knowledge I got about web assembly from Shivay Lamba was immense, the other speaker was Abhinav Dubey, he talked about Kubernetes dashboard but tbh I was a beginner so I didn't know much but he talked well.

D2D Meetup- My Second Meet-up

Fb-MRXOaUAU20Z2.jpeg Now here things become more interesting, in my second meetup I learned a lot and I want to start with Unnati di She organized the D2D meet-up and let me be straight forward she amazed me and not only her but Siddharth and Prakarsh aka Blockchain Balak and I am telling you one thing once you start listening to his talks there is no going back. I mean the way he speaks it's fantastic fantabulous, and don't miss the talk of Siddharth too the knowledge and advice he gives in his talks are legit. There is so much to learn in meet-ups if you go with the mindset of learning and you are open to suggestions.

Hey! Have you reached here reading without getting distracted? Man I need to admit to you that you have a good attention span

Ok question time
Have you gone to some public space and didn't know how to interact with people?
most of you will say "Yes NISHANT", don't worry I got you ๐Ÿ˜‰

The next person I am going to introduce to you is one of the friendliest and coolest people I have met in my life, Jyoti Bisht when she entered and started speaking in the meetup everyone was just having a good time, especially me and she has such a positive vibe, but you will say, dude, you were going to help us, yes I am, (Now pay attention) I asked her how you could be so much friendly while interacting with others she answers, How I speak friendly with others shows my confidence and also be chill don't think much and yes, I started doing this. I knew I have confidence it's just I think so much, but now I am learning and applying and It is helping. I hope you will try it too and if you are so underconfident start speaking in front of the mirror.

Now, There is so much to tell but I will cut it short to
What I achieved from going to this event?

  • Learned about the art of speaking and interacting in public. (This was not the topic in D2D but I observed speakers how they were interacting with the audience and I learned new things)
  • Got to know about the Developer Relations (DevRel) role and how DevRel works
  • Got to know about Open-Source and how a beginner can start and how to contribute to Open-Source can boost your career.
  • Learned about hackathons by Pooja Gera like
    1. what should be our approach and mindset while participating in hackathons
    2. Learned some tips on how to build a team for hackathons.
    3. Selection of Problem statement - one-line rule

My Overall experience

I loved going to the meetups and learning new things and going to meet-ups helped me immensely. And if you are open to all insights, you can do it too. But remember you don't have to go to every meetup Go to some important ones or the ones you think can help you in your career or your life and keep learning and working.

It's time to answer the question- is it worth it to go to meetups?
Yes, it is worth it to go to meetups but only if you are open to learning new things and willing to update and upgrade the knowledge you already have. But remember this going to meetups alone cannot help you to get a job, Going to meetups help you to build a network but if you don't have skills it will be of no use.
remember
Skills + Networking + Direction >>>> Just Networking

All the best for your future

This is me NISHANT ATTREY writing about my meetup experiences. Hope you enjoyed it :)
Do give your feedback on how I can improve, how was your experience while reading the blog? Do write in the comment section, I will love to know your experience and feedback.

ย